In the nineteenth century and for much of the twentieth, this section would have been more correctly named “field & track” as: running high leap, putting the stone, hop skip and jump, hurdles and running long jump were all included in the early contests. Pole vaulting was also introduced along the way – a Mr Jamiesen broke the British professional record in the Ambleside Pole Leaping Event of 1962.

Today only the track running events are contested but a handicapping system still prevails in keeping with the professional tradition. The current handicapper has been involved with Ambleside Sports for nearly a zillion years – Ernie Blair first competed here in 1960 and has been the handicapper since 1993.

EVENT 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015
SENIOR 90m Mark McGlincy Ryan Trimby Sam Bandeen David Agnew Richard Eland C Wilson
200m Lee Notman Wallace McGowan Sam Bandeen Ewan Dyer Richard Eland Craig Sowerby
400m Craig Sowerby Thomas Matthews Ewan Dyer Ewan Pettigrew Joseph Wilkinson Fraser Neil
800m Colin Welsh Colin Welsh Graeme Gibson Colin Welsh Ewan Dyer Paul Hodgson
1600m Keith Murray Mark Scott Jacob Adkin Will Smith Fergus McGraw Nathan Fox
(under 17)
90m Abbey Feeney Damari Campbell Laura Pegler Alice Giller Joseph Wilkinson Megan Busby
200m Jack Wilson Harry Matthews Euan Pettigrew Megan Busby Campbell McNaughton N Sanger
400m Broadie Irvine Sam Doherty Matthew Doherty George Buchan Joseph Wilkinson Cameron Clark
800m Arran Darling Rebecca Buchanan Mark Jackson Christian Gallagher Luke Bowen Joe Roelants
UNDER 15 400m       Adam Hewitt Nial Smith  
UNDER 13 400m       Oliver Dustin Katy Atkinson